Boy Scouts of America to Hand Out Video Game Merit Pin

Video Game Pin
The Holy Grail of Boy Scout Pins - Video Gaming

So when I was a wee little lad, I had fond memories of my brother being in Cub Scouts. I got all the benefits of being in the Scouts but didn’t get any of the social humiliation. We’d go on camping trips on state land some where in Northern Michigan. When we got there we’d learn how to start fires, find edible food stuff in the woods, catch fish. The normal Boy Scout stuff, the stuff you see in the movies or hear about from a family friend. Hey even once in a while, we carve Soap Box cars and have some races. And for each of these events or skills you’d earn a badge of sorts. Showing them off to your “boy scout” friends was just another way of being cool.

But never, and I mean never did my brother or I ever get a Pin for Video Games. I mean come on if we did then I’d hope they’d make higher levels then just one. Cause that badge/pin would be the shining crown of my collection! I’d leave a ton of space around it, that no other pin could come in even close to this one. It would stand out like a beacon to all the other boys, “Hey look at this, I play video games. And I’m good, so good it hurts. So suck it Noob!” or something along those lines. I never got my great grammar or speaking badge.

But, that point a side, I think this is one of the best things that old stuffy institution has done. I mean yes there are things you have to do in order to receive said pin but hey your still getting rewarded to play video games. So Den Mother Gladys if your reading this I would love my Video Game Pin ASAP. I believe after my many long hours of researching and playin video games I deserve this much. See and you said they would only rot our brains HA! Oh, Pat can get one too.

Slashdot

Leave a Reply

